Beta Delta

Our Lady of the Lake University
San Antonio, Texas
Date Chartered: 
March 6, 1999
Founding Fathers: 
Joshua Anderson
Pedro Castillo
Bryon Cherepes
Ralph Martin Garza
Arturo Hernandez
Juan David Larios
Arturo Lopez
Francisco Lozano
Roger Urrabazo
Ruben Villalobos

During a bible study, a small group of men in the fall of 1997 began discussing the formation of a fraternity dedicated to serving God as well as our fellow man. By the fall of 1998, this group of men had not only grown in numbers but also in strength, and became a temporary club during Fall Gathering at Oklahoma City University. With Francisco Lozano taking the role as pledge master, this group of men began preparation for the final phase of their journey, formal initiation. After traveling 16 hours, through four states, this group of men arrived at Spring Conclave in Memphis, Tennessee. It was here that 12 members were activated into the fraternity, and received a charter from the National Organization of Sigma Theta Epsilon. Juan David Larios was elected the first President in the chapter’s history and Arturo Lopes was to serve as Vice-President. Their goal, along with the rest of their brothers was to bring a deeper sense of Christ in their lives, and the lives of their peers. They were to live their lives as soldiers of God and dedicate themselves to serving their community using faith as their shield, hope as their helm, and love as their sword.